Been A While

I’ve gotten a lot of work done but I’m feeling really lazy not posting anything up here.

Progress reports:

DigitSync has been turned into Digi-Sync. The reason for the name change is due to certain features that have been cut; namely the phone number part. The reason for the cut is because it violates the 2nd rule on the terms and agreements for Facebook developers. Well, just getting my program to sidestep Facebook’s graph API and inject the appropriate javascript so I could parse for the users contact information was about a month’s work, which kinda sucks. Without the phone number and e-mail feature I don’t feel good about a 99¢ price tag considering the competition, it looks like I’ll have to rely on the iAd framework for revenue. So far my synchronizer doesn’t do an amazing job at distinguishing itself, but hopefully the interface will prove worthy for the market.

That’s something I really like to focus on: User Interfaces. They should be as transparent as possible. Part of why I enjoy working on Mac OSX over Windows. Consistent interfaces; every button, text field, combo box, etc- all act the same regardless of which program they’re running in. Only the necessary information displayed at any given time. An aesthetic so pleasing to the eye, that it becomes part of the systems functionality. Ok…. this is getting kinda creepy.

Anyway, I started yet another project yesterday. It’s a game I plan on finishing tomorrow, or the next day at the latest. It’s super simple, and my room mates are doing the art. So far the basic game is done, just needs some bells, whistles, and a million dollar budget.

Leave a Reply

